South Africa

South Africa is home to eight of the world’s official heritage sites, as determined by Unesco’s World Heritage Committee. The committee seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of  “outstanding value to humanity”. Internationally, there are 851 World Heritage sites in 141 countries (as of April 2008). South Africa has a total of eight – four cultural, three natural and one mixed (cultural and natural) site. Starting with the first site added to the list, ending with the latest, these are:

Go to Source:
The all-in-one official guide
and web portal to South Africa.

Photographic Gallery


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: